• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

RMS clerk or Logistics Officer?

PaulD

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi.   I'm a recent Business Administration graduate and am currently a CGA student.   I've applied to be a Logistics Officer but the RMS clerk trade has also caught my eye.   I caught a small blurb in a CGA brochure about a RMS clerk who enrolled in the CGA program, earned her CGA designation and is now a comptroller with the CF.  Now that's something to aspire to.

I told my career counsellor about the RMS clerk/comptroller I   read about and asked whether switching my application to RMS clerk might be a good idea.   I reasoned that this trade might be a good fit for me because of the practical experience that can go towards earning my CGA designation.   My cousellor told me that it's possible and that I would, in his words, "kick butt", since   I would be over-qualified for this trade.   He still thinks Logistics Officer might be a better choice for me because he considers me an "above-average" candidate for this.  

I'm looking at this from the perspective of a CGA student.   Do Logistics Officers get to perform any hands-on financial/accounting work?   I'm eager to join the forces and would like to get in as soon as I can.   Should I stay the course and wait for the results of the next officer selection board?   Thanks and I appreciate any thoughts on this.

Speaking In my very very limited experiance I can only tell you that if you go NCM its alot easier to go Officer later down the road.
Meaning if you want you can try RMS Clerk and see how you like it, and then if you wished go Log O later down the line...

however, Im sure there are quite a few individuals on this board who are much much more qualified at answering this question then I am, and can also tell you alot more about the specifics of the trade.