• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Trade to Officer careers

jackamela

Reaction score
Hi all,

In the middle of recruitment, just completed CFAT and fitness tests. High scores in both, unofficially.

Looking mostly at Army (but also still considering RCAF & Navy). I'm particularly interested in physical hands-on type roles which are also available as Officer - either direct entry or to work towards.

Any advice on Vehicle Tech & Weapons Tech - and whether it is possible to enlist as/work up to Officer in either of these trades? I saw them on the site only as NCM roles.

Construction Engineer is something I'd love to do - but looks like you can't be an Officer in that trade without an Engineering degree? (I have a degree, not Engineering).

Armour Officer is also interesting so any advice/opinions anyone has on that role would be appreciated.

Sorry for the long question, any advice appreciated.

The most physical officer trades will generally be the combat trades- Infnatry, Armour, Artillery, Combat engineer. The nature of those jobs is such that, at least early in the career and periodically in future, the officers will be in the muck and the suck with the troops. You cannot lead a platoon attack from a headquarters.

Most other officer trades will not be as physical, though some will have their own degrees of arduous working conditions, at least from time to time. But officer trades aren't generally where you do the technical work with your hands. Even the infantry officer isn't behind a machinegun; while they have a rifle, their weapon is their radio and their ability to direct the troops they lead.