• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Residency Requirements for SECURITY CLEARANCE

Mileender

Inactive
Reaction score
How strict is the 5 year residency requirement for joining the res? Although I was born and raised in Canada, and I'm a Canadian citizen, I've spent a good part of my working life overseas, and I only moved back to Canada about two and half years ago. At the recruiting center here in Montreal, they said it was pretty strict - any time you spend more than 6 months outside the country, the clock resets to zero and you have to wait 5 years. Others have told me different... that it's cumulative. Anyone know?

That sounds rather odd to me.  I am not an expert on the Admin matters involved, but was always under the assumption that if you were a Canadian citizen by birth you should have no such problems.  If the children of Cdn Service Members who were serving overseas for several years and return to Canada have no problem joining the Reserves, then the same should apply in your case.

GW

Well, I hope you're right. Although I haven't put in my papers yet, that's the one thing I really worry about.

I've been searching the other posts as well as the forces website but I could not find the answer to this question. With the security check, they must investigate any time that you have left the country. HOw long do you have to be away for it to be considered, living away? I have spent 3 months living in China as well as spending 5 summers working in the US.

Sorry if this has been covered