• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Field Kitchen Requirements

rwgill

Inactive
Reaction score
To all those CF Cooks out there..................

What is required, to operate a field kitchen for approximately 60 people of a weekend (5 meals)?

Here is the situation.

Cadet units have been told that they will no longer be given IMPs.  Usually this is not a problem.  Some units, like the one I volunteer with, are located approximately 1.5 hrs from the closest mess hall and training area.  Hayboxing will be a challenge. 

We have been told that we will be given money to acquire fresh rations and cook ourselves (on naphtha Coleman stoves), or we could have the FTX catered (very pricey).  I own a restaurant so I can help out, to a point, with providing rations.  While I am also an instructor, catering the cadet unit will pull me from the field and into my restaurant.

My idea was simple.  Hire (task out) field cooking to local militia unit cooks.  This could be a win/win situation for the cadet units, by being fed, and the cook, by gaining more experience (and days paid).

My problem is, of course, proving to the chain of command that this idea may work and save money.  Cooking on naphtha stoves is very difficult and there is always the food safety issue.  With a field kitchen we can also provide a more nutritious diet, as opposed to hamburgers and french fries.

Lastly, is it possible for a civilian to be qualified on the field kitchen?  I have been in this industry for quite a long time and own my own restaurant for the last two years.  Cooking isn't the problem, knowing the quirks of equipment is.

Cheers,

Rob

IIRC, and I may be wrong, but the start point is a 6A qualified cook. Without one of those, everything else is a non starter. If you have one of those, he'll be able to help you out with everything else.

cooking in the field kitchen is not an issue