• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

My application story

ConstableMurtis

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

First off, I just wanted to say that I have been stalking around these forums since about August of 2015, back when I was still trying to decide if I wanted to apply for the Reserves or not. All the posts I’ve read between now and then have really helped with all the questions I had about applying, the process, and everything else. Thank you.

I decided yesterday to actually join the forum, mainly so I could share my application story. I will start with a little history about myself. I am 29 years old, married, living in Saskatoon, SK. Up until November of 2015 I had been a graphic designer since I was 19. Unfortunately, I got laid off. But, this isn’t where my Army application started.

Early in 2015, I started to feel like my career as a graphic designer wasn’t really doing it for me anymore. I was tired of sitting at a desk, all day every day. The work itself wasn’t very gratifying anymore. I decided I wanted a job where physical fitness played a major role, so I started looking into getting into law enforcement. Now, to get to the point of my Forces application, I will just say that I applied for the city police in June of 2015, passed my written and physical tests, but didn’t get accepted beyond that. I was pretty devastated for a while after that.

Once I finally got over my rejection from the police, I decided that I was going to apply for the Reserves. In September I went to my local CFRC here in Saskatoon and talked with the two Corporals there about applying for the Reserves. They were very informative and answered all my questions. I filed my application on October 9, 2015. About a week later, I was contacted through email by one of the Corporals I had spoken with in order to schedule my fitness test for October 22 at 1 PM.