• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I really want to apply to be a reserve once I receive my PR and need advice.

eve_0415

Reaction score
Hi everyone. First post here and I need a bit of advice so bear with me even if my post is a bit long.

A bit of a background. I am a 24 year old female with average to below fitness (planning to work on this, to give context I can run 21 kms in 2:40 hours which I'm not proud of, 5km in 34 mins. Speed is the problem).

Currently I am in process of getting my PR -- I plan to sign up for a reserve spot as soon as I get my PR. I graduated UBC in Bachelor of Arts, Cognitive Systems so I'm not sure if that could count towards anything in the military. Anyways, I love IT, I was previously IT support + now work as a software engineer. I had always eyed military jobs, but never knew reserves were an option and this just sounds like a perfect opportunity to try out before I turn 30. I've got a few questions:

1. ATIS sounds very interesting and I think I'll learn a lot of things from it. However Vancouver seems to have Army units, so I'm interested in ACISS instead. This sounds more like a Signal Operator job / deal more with radios than computers. I want to mainly deal with computers, although radios do sound fun. Should I be aiming for IST then? When should I choose IST vs ACISS? Is ACISS the Army equivalent of ATIS?

2. So far my knowledge is that BMQ is available during the weekends and trades training will take a few months separately. In which case I would have to leave my daily job. How do people do this? Will I use my vacation, or is there a way to do it unpaid? Why does the IST page say "Information Systems Technician training takes approximately 12 months" and Sig Ops "Signal Operator training takes 19 weeks"? I can't find the page for ACISS, is it Sig Ops?