• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Hi, New Here

U

UnderhillW

Hello,

(To the staff) I'm sorry if there is a thread that I could have followed, but there are so many that I couldn't find one pertaining to my situation. Please correct me if I have violated any etiquette rules.

I am 22 years old, married with one child (1 1/2 year old). I am currently in my 3rd year of a Bachelor of Arts degree, Major English, Minor History.

I have set my sights on a career in the army, and I am planning to apply in Jan. 2005. I want to join because I have always been intrigued by the lifestyle and the discipline it would bring to my life, but I am more seriously considering it because of job security and opportunity for advancement. To date, I have very little to show for my efforts other than a slightly higher than average GPA, no concrete career outlook and an enormous student loan debt, not to mention the money my father has contributed. I have yet to truly do anything on my own, or to bring in any money to support my own family.

My question, to anyone who might be able to share some insight or a common story, is: Is this decision a good one, concerning my situation? Are my motives in the right direction? My wife and I have discussed it at great length, and she is both supportive and aware of the implications of being a military wife. I feel that both of our minds are in the right place to make this decision, but I also wonder if we are idealizing the situation too much and that we might find that the decision would leave us no better off, or perhaps worse.

I will appreciate any input on this subject.

Wesley Underhill

Have you thought about joining the reserves?  It would let you start doing something, it would allow you to start making some money, and it would give you a feel for the Army.