• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I dislike RMC

I sense a personal story coming up.
lol, not mine, my wife's. She tells it with far more panache, but most of the time couldn't believe she was paying $20k a year for over loaded classes, general lack of support, and administrative failures that would make the GoC blush. It was amateur hour in the worst ways. I'd be embarrassed to have some kind of volunteer organization that poorly run. We've got a few post secondary schools between us, and it was far and away the worst by a long shot.

{Imagine for one fabulous moment a gif of Coach from LetterKenny kicking a garbage can yelling 'Embarrassing'}

OK, I have had a few beers. Pardon what follows. I am an RMC grad from many decades ago. I think one of the root problems with RMC is that it doesn't know what it wants to be.

• It wants to be bound to tradition from its founding but wants to be modern.
  • It wants to provide an education comparable to civilian universities but wants to train junior officers.
  • It wants to be demanding (physically, emotionally, psychologically) but wants to mollycoddle.
  • It wants everyone to have an extremely high level of physical fitness but doesn't want that to interfere with other aspects of the college.
  • It wants everyone to learn the art and science of military leadership but doesn't want that to interfere with other aspects of the college.
  • It wants everyone to excel at academics but doesn't want that to interfere with other aspects of the college.
  • It wants everyone to be bilingual but doesn't want that to interfere with other aspects of the college.
  • It wants an academic staff to do cutting-edge research but is tied to DND's requirements (which are often decades behind the current technology).